Recipes, Special Days

Jake and the Neverland Pirates…. Birthday

My son is going to be 5 in a couple weeks. OMG! I am going to do a couple posts of the last few birthdays. 

His first birthday was a Mickey Mouse theme. I went WAY over the top, especially for a first birthday no one cares about but mom. No one who RSVP’d came but the grandparents who are kind of obligated. Unfortunately, I did not take pictures of that. His second birthday I did nothing. Grandparents insisted on at least a cupcake and song, fine!

I love, love, love party planning. 

Birthday # 3 was Jake and the Neverland Pirates. If you’ve never heard of it, it’s a Disney Junior show about some kids who live on Neverland and are constantly being hounded by Captain Hook and his crew of pirates. Cute. My son? Ob-sessed!

I spent months collecting, researching, shopping and creating the games, menu, goody bags and decor. 

I had been at it so long that little man climbed into my lap and passed out.



We had been at a zoo event weeks prior and little man discovered cornhole. So I had to add one more game to the roster with scraps from my yard. 

Lots and lots of games!


I used a kiddie pool, filled it with sand, Mardi Gras necklaces, and little jewels and mini shovels. I could have gotten away with just this. The kids loved it. Not sure they played much of anything else!


I found a treasure chest piñata. I would have made one but the last 4 I’ve made have failed. Sorry kids! Goody bags all neatly tucked. 

Also, FOOD! My personal favorite of any party. I love food.


Top left: guarded by a carved pineapple “Tick Tock Croc” is some berried treasure. Grapes, strawberries, blueberries and pineapple. 

Jelly Pirate Ships: blue jello with an orange slice


I failed to get a better picture of the cake with all the characters on it. It was store bought. A chocolate ganache from publix. Absolutely amazing.

Veggie Planks: sliced cucumbers and carrots with ranch dip

Cannon balls: black olives

Fish and Chips: goldfish crackers and lays potato chips

I labeled mini bottles of water with “salty sea water” and skull and cross bones


The giant bottles of Gatorade were labeled “Grog”.

Scurvy Peg Legs: corn dogs 


I even dressed up! 

Everyone had a ton of fun. It took him days if not weeks to recover from all of the excitement. 

Stay tuned for birthday # 4: Octonauts!

Leave a Reply

